By Dan Hardenbrook

Newberry High School hosted a Winter Sports Banquet last week to honor their 2019-2020 teams from Girls and Boys Basketball and Wrestling. Varsity Coaches Jim Dzelak (Girls Basketball), Kenn Depew (Boys Basketball), and Bob Bowler (Wrestling) recognized their players’ top accomplishments for the season, and also gave speeches thanking their assistants, JV coaches, and support staff for all the hard work put in this past season. The awards presentation was streamed online and can be replayed on the M123FM Facebook page. Here is the list of award winners from the winter Sports Season.


Chris Nance Award (Player of the Year) – Katie Rahilly
Team Leader FG% – Katie Rahilly
Team Leader 3pt% – Jen Dzelak
Team Leader FT% – Bailey Zellar
Team Leader Rebounds – Jen Dzelak
Team Leader Assists – Bailey Zellar
Team Leader Steals – Katie Rahilly
2nd Team All SAC – Katie Rahilly
HM All EUP – Bailey Zellar
2nd Team All EUP, EUP Defensive POY – Katie Rahilly
Captain Awards – Katie Rahilly
Sportsmanship Awards – Brenna Pavey & April James
Most Improved – Mackenzie DunbarHustle Award – Ambriah Ducsay & Jen Dzelak
Coaches Award – Bailey Zellar


Tom Villemure Award (Player of the Year) – Logan Depew
Deflections & Charges Award – Marco Juare
Most Improved – Marco Juarez
Team Leader FT% – Brayden Taylor
Team Leader FG% – Matt Carroll
Team Leader Steals – Logan Depew
Team Leader Rebounds – Logan Depew
Team LEader Assists – Logan Depew
Defensive Player of the Year – Jared Wallace
SAC All Defensive Team – Jared Wallace
Top Scorer – Luke Jordan
Coaches Awards – Luke Jordan,
2nd Team All EUP – Luke Jordan
2nd Team All SAC – Luke Jordan, Logan Depew
HM All SAC – Logan Depew
HM ALL UP – Logan Depew


1st Team All Conference SAC – Travis O’Neil, Noah Gielecki, Jacob Gribbell, Cameron Depew, Lance Bowler
2nd Team All Conference SAC – Paul Davis
SAC Wrestler of the Year – Upper Weight Classes – Lance Bowler
Most Wins (44) – Lance Bowler
Most Pins (32) – Lance Bowler
Most 2 Pt Near Falls – Travis O’Neil
Most 3 Pt Near Falls – Lance Bowler
Fastest Pin (7 seconds) – Lance Bowler
Most Takedowns – Lance Bowler
Most Escapes Jacob Gribbell
Most Reversals – Lance Bowler
Captain Awards – Cameron Depew, Lance Bowler
Rookie of the Year – Paul Davis