A Newberry man is one of three candidates seeking for the chance to represent District C on the Cloverland Electric Cooperative Board of Directors. Kevin Vanatta, owner of Newberry Motors, said he feels qualified to help Cloverland keep costs down, safety standards high, and environmentally sound.

“I think I can do that through good decision making and working hard, just like I do for my business for our community,” Vanatta said.

“Besides that, all of us are going to leave this planet, but I want to be used up,” he said. “I don’t want to lay around and collect dust. I want to give of what I’ve learned and hopefully help someone else.”

Vanatta is challenged for the District C seat by Allan Ott and Isaac Swisher, both of Manistique.  Candidate biographies will be published on Cloverland.com and in the May/June issue of Cloverland Connections magazine. Ballots mail April 25, 2022 and voting ends May 27, 2022.

Members can vote by mailed ballots or electronic voting.  Election results will be presented at the annual meeting of the members on Thursday, June 2, 2022 and published online at Cloverland.com.  Ballots will not be mailed to districts with unopposed candidates; ballots will only be mailed to members in districts A and C.

Cloverland members have until the date of record — Friday, March 25, 2022 – to update their account information on file with the cooperative. If a membership
is held jointly, such as with a spouse, then either member may cast the vote for the membership. The name(s) of those eligible to cast the vote for each membership will be printed on the ballot.

Businesses, associations, firms, partnerships, governmental units and other entities must file a voter designation letter with the cooperative by the date of record confirming the authorized voting representative. Voter designation letters must include a company logo or company letterhead.  A sample letter is available on Cloverland.com.  As a not-for-profit, democratically controlled utility, Cloverland Electric is governed by a nine-member board.  The cooperative’s five-county service area is divided into three membership districts. Each district is represented by three directors elected by the members of the district to serve a three-year term. One seat is up for election in each district annually.